CD 22 tracks, 75:22
General Pop, General R&B
Janet Jackson - Velvet Rope
Virgin Records (1997)
In Sammlung
01  Interlude: Twisted Elegance 00:42
02  Velvet Rope (Featuring Vanessa Mae) 04:55
03  You 04:42
04  Got 'til It's Gone (Featuring Q-Tip And Joni Mitchell) 04:01
05  Interlude: Speaker Phone 00:54
06  My Need 03:44
07  Interlude: Fasten Your Seatbelts 00:19
08  Go Deep 04:42
09  Free Xone 04:57
10  Interlude: Memory 00:04
11  Together Again 05:01
12  Interlude: Online 00:19
13  Empty 04:32
14  Interlude: Full 00:12
15  What About 04:24
16  Every Time 04:17
17  Tonight's The Night 05:07
18  I Get Lonely 05:17
19  Rope Burn 04:15
20  Anything 04:54
21  Interlude: Sad 00:10
22  Special 07:54
Persönliche Details
Katalognummer CDV 2860
UPC (Barcode) 724384476229
Verpackung Jewel Case
Digital/Analog DDD
Sound Stereo
The Velvet Rope Artist Janet Jackson Album Title Velvet Rope Date of Release Oct 7 , 1997 (approx.) inprint AMG Rating (Good) Genre Rock Styles Pop/Rock, Adult Contemporary, Urban, Dance-Pop Time70:57 Where janet., Ms. Jackson's third blockbuster album, impliedsexuality with its teasing cover and seductive grooves, its sequel, The Velvet Rope, is sexually explicit, offering tales of bondage, body piercing and bisexuality. Not that you'd necessarily know that from listening to The Velvet Rope, since the album sags with endless interludes, murmuredvocals and subdued urban grooves. Working with her mainstays Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis, Jackson essentially reworks the hushed atmosphere of janet., neglecting to put a new sonic spin on the material -- for an album that wants to push the limits, it sounds surprisingly tame. Similarly, Jackson's attempts to broaden her sexual horizons frequently sound forced, whether it's the references to piercing or her recasting of Rod Stewart's "Tonight's the Night" as a lesbian anthem. Furthermore, the album is simply too long, which means the best moments sink into the murk. And that's unfortunate, because there are good moments on The Velvet Rope, but at itsrunning time of 70+ minutes and 22 tracks, it's hard to work up the patience to find them. -- Stephen Thomas Erlewine 1997 CD Virgin 44762 1997 CS Virgin 44762 Janet Jackson - Vocals, Vocals (bckgr), Producer,Vocal Arrangement, Executive Producer, Rhythm Arrangements Dave Barry - Guitar James Wright - Organ, Keyboards, Vocals, Rhythm Arrangements Lee Blaske - String Arrangements Carolyn Daws - Violin Hanley Daws -Violin Rene Elizondo - Executive Producer Brian "Big Bass" Gardner -Mastering Charles Gray - Viola Camilla Heller - Cello Steve Hodge - Engineer, Mixing Ken Holmen - Clarinet, Flute, Saxophone JimmyJam -Producer, Vocal Arrangement, Rhythm Arrangements Joshua Koestenbaum - Cello Terry Lewi